Copper mask

25 Dec

A project I’m currently working on is creating a copper mask. I’ve cut it up into various pieces to make it easier to form, and so I can rivet it together with brass rivets. I think the dark copper on the light brass will contrast nicely. Here’s what I’ve done so far:

First I wanted to make a concrete positive of my face. To do this I had to create a paper mache mold of my face.

I then filled this mask with concrete:

I then went about fitting the paper and copper to the mask

When I finished cutting out the copper I started to shape the plates with a bit of wood. I eventually had to move into my shed and bring out the hammers. I’ll post more as it progresses.

Leave a Reply

