Spring loaded shield

29 Dec

For the longest time I thought the coolest accessory to a cane sword would be a spring loaded shield. The shield would be a small buckler that was collapsible and strapped to your arm. When folded it would just look like some weird rectangular box on your arm, but then when you hit a button, BAM the shield shoots out into position. I could never figure out how I would make this until I picked up a wine opener one day and had an epiphany.

As the wine opener screw went down, the gears flung the arms up. I figure if I attach a spring to this, I can have the wine opener pull the arms of shield open and into place.

To do this, I first had to get a wine opener and remove the rivets holding it together.

I then cut the screw off and ground the nub down. After that I drilled a hole for the spring to fit into.

I then spent forever trying to figure out how to build a housing for the gears, so it would sit on this flat plate of metal that I would then strap to my arms. Eventually I realized that I had the housing the entire time, I just sawed off the part of the wine opener that fit around the lip of the bottle.

Once I figured out how to securely hold the spring down at the other end, I then went about measuring the with and lengths of the blades. I decided to make the shield 10 inches roughly in diameter, so each shield blade was 5 inches.

After I finished the measurements and cut out a piece of cardboard in the correct dimensions, I then transferred the shape on to a plate of 16 gauge steel.


Once I traced out 8 pieces, I carefully cut them out with a reciprocating saw.

After I had those plates cut out I spent 10 minutes filing down the edges so they weren’t razor sharp. I then punched and drilled holes into each of them so they would rotate on an axis.

I then bent the edges of each plate, depending upon what order they would be in from bottom to top. This way as the top most plate flew out first, the  back of it would catch the lip of the next plate down, and pull that plate forward, only to do the same to the preceding plate.

I then attached the top most plate to the wine opener arms with a brass rivet.

I lined some copper on the leading edge of both topmost plates because I was originally planning on cutting out a falcon or eagle shape over the spring, this way the bird would look to be spreading it’s wings as the shield flung open. (Pretty cool huh? ~_^)

Well after seeing the thing put together, I realized just how rough the back edges of the plates look. I am now planing to cover them in brass or copper as well and might make it a bat instead of a falcon.

As I started to do that, I realized just how much of a bitch cutting out each little brass strip would be, so I only did two. After that I cut a little bat face out of copper. I drilled out the eyes so the brass would shine through. I then riveted the mouth to the body and cut little feet at the other end, with holes for the screws.

To see the shield spring into action (~_^) watch this 3 second clip of what happens when I pull the pin.

Ta da!

Now I just need to make the strap to attach it to my arm, and possibly a fingered gauntlet to go along with it.

2 Responses to “Spring loaded shield”

  1. David Farley March 6, 2013 at 10:11 am #

    Hi, I would be really interested to know how much one of these would cost. You appear to be the only one who can or has figured out how to make one, so please let me know via comment.

  2. click here March 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

    Some genuinely nice and useful info on this site, also I think the pattern contains great features.

Leave a Reply

