Amethyst necklace

3 Jul

So the other day a friend of mine told me she had been looking for a necklace comprising of a stone wrapped in wire, but was unable to find exactly what she wanted. She told me she liked amethyst and green, and I went to work.

I made a couple of trips to the craft store, but couldn’t find the type of amethyst I was looking for. Most of it came in the form of big, clunky, pre-machined pendants; I was looking for something a little more natural feeling. So I went on amazon and for a few bucks found these tumbled amethyst stones:

Next at the craft store I picked up some green glass crystals, some copper wire (I thought the bright copper would contrast nicely to the purple and green), and a copper chain. I carefully detached one of the green crystals from it’s grouping, and with a bit of crazy glue, started to wrap the stone in copper wire.

After about 20 minutes of fiddling and trying to hold the copper in place with the aid of tape, I had a finished necklace.

Leave a Reply

