Raven keychain

6 Sep

A friend of mine was looking to give her friend a raven keychain but was unable to find what she wanted online, so she asked me. She sent me a picture of a raven in flight and told me she wanted it lightweight and non-bendable. I printed out the picture, resized it to the proportions she wanted, and then cut the image of the bird out on paper.

I then got a piece of steel plate and traced the image of the bird onto it. I ended up having to do this several times because the plate was a dark color to being with, and my trace would keep wearing off.

I then went about carefully clipping off pieces of metal with my sheers. When I had it roughly done, I took a small metal saw and accented the feathers. To smooth the edges over and make the bird flow better, I took my rotary tool and ground down the edges.

When that was finished I painted over the bird with glossy black paint. I had to do this several times because I made the mistake of painting it on newspaper. The paint would spill under the metal and the newspaper so when I picked it up off the table, the newspaper would rip and stick to the backside of the bird. >.< I scrapped it off with a razor blade and found a metal dish to paint it in, that way nothing would stick to the bird. When that was finished I applied a clear coat of sealer on top of the paint. This would protect the paint and make the bird shine at the same time.

One Response to “Raven keychain”

  1. Onella September 7, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Thanks so much Dustin! It’s perfect! =)

Leave a Reply

