Rose under glass

3 Dec

A few days ago we had some fresh roses in the house and they gave me some “beauty and the beast” style inspiration for an accent lamp.  I had a glass vase and some mirrors left over from a lava lamp project, so I decided why not invert the vase and put the rose in it. I found a nice chunk of quartz to hold up the rose at the base. The best part is that it glows under the light. With only about 20 minutes of fiddling, I had this awesome lamp! (Click the pics to make them larger and see more detail)

7 Responses to “Rose under glass”

  1. Jerry December 22, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    What kind of quartz is his? I like the glow. Is this due to the light or the effect of both light and mirror? How did you a ttach the rose to the stone?

    • godlesspaladin December 22, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

      To be honest, I don’t know exactly what type of quartz it is. I found an old rock collection I had as a kid and used it. The rose is attached via some strong super-glue. I considered trying to build a base to insert it into, but it ended up looking to cluttered.

      • Jerry December 22, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

        This isn’t the pink rose quartz is it? Looks like a milky quartz. Do you think it’s the translucent property that gave it the glow? I’m trying to find similar rocks but they can be pricey so I would like to find the right one first try.

      • The Shattered Lance December 23, 2010 at 4:44 am #

        I honestly don’t know. I don’t think it’s pink rose quartz, I think it’s more milky. Here, I took a detailed close up of a similar piece that I had left over in my bin.

  2. Lindsey Vegh February 8, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    I really love this idea and wanted to make one for a friend, what kind of light are you using? Do you know where I could buy one?

    • godlesspaladin February 8, 2013 at 7:21 pm #

      The light I was using was a simple little 3-LED push light like this one. It wasn’t really attached to the glass, rather it was sitting on top. You might be able to come up with a better housing for it. I just liked it because there were no wires to try and hide.

      • Lindsey Vegh February 9, 2013 at 5:16 pm #

        Thank you very much :]

Leave a Reply

